Mapping Fire Risk and Planning for Recovery in Sonoma County

“In the State of California, the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, CALFIRE, maps Fire Hazard Severity Zones based on fuels, terrain, weather, and other relevant factors. These areas are classified into three zones: Moderate, High, and Very High. While CALFIRE data provide an essential baseline for assessing and mapping fire hazard zones, the real challenge for planners is often aligning this information with current and future land use data to estimate fire risk. Beyond mapping fire hazard levels, planners must be able to evaluate who and what is most vulnerable, including population, housing, employment areas, and more.”

Click here to read more from Urban Footprint.

, ,

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.